What should you do if you are hit by an insured or under-insured driver in Cranston RI? The first thing that you should do is contact a Cranston RI Car Accident Lawyer as soon as possible so they can give you proper legal advice as to how you should proceed.
Being involved in a car accident can be very traumatic and can make for a bad day. What makes it even worse is finding out that the driver who hit you is under-insured or uninsured. Most state laws require car drivers to carry insurance but as you know, there are people out there who have found a way to cheat the system.
If you have been hit by an under insured or uninsured person, don’t despair because there are a number of things that your Cranston RI Car Accident Lawyer can do for you to ensure that you get the compensation you deserve.
Cranston RI Uninsured/Under-insured Motorists
Cranston RI drivers must carry certain levels of liability insurance coverage on their cars. In case the driver is involved in an accident, the insurance will cover damages including vehicle repair bills and medical bills which might otherwise be very costly for an average person. The minimum coverage a driver is supposed to carry is:
- Property damage- $25, 000
- Death or injury of more than one person in a single accident- $50, 000
- Death or injury of one person in a single accident- $25, 000
Although the above mentioned minimum requirements are required by law, it’s always better to carry a policy with a higher maximum coverage. This is because if you are involved in an accident and you are found to be at fault, you may have to pay the difference if the damages are found to exceed the limits of your policy.
Cranston RI requires that every car insurance policy sold offer uninsured motorist coverage. If you do not want this sort of coverage you have to reject it in writing. Uninsured/under-insured motorist coverage ensures that you are covered should you be involved in an accident where the other driver is not insured. For example, if you are involved in a car accident and the driver at fault carries the minimum coverage of $25, 000, yet damages amount to $30, 000, then your uninsured motorist coverage will cover the remaining $5, 000.
Cranston Is In A “Fault” Car Insurance State
When it comes to determining who should pay for damages after a car accident, Rhode Island uses a fault based system. This means that the person who is found to be at fault in the accident is the one responsible for paying for the damages or injuries. If you have been in a car accident in Cranston, RI, your Cranston RI Car Accident Lawyer will advise you on three options that you can choose from to recover your compensation:
- You can file a lawsuit
- You can go directly to the at-fault’s driver’s insurance adjuster
- You can file a claim with your insurance carrier
Understand that you must first exhaust your policy limits before you start pursuing the other driver – it does not matter who was at fault during the accident.
Contact A Cranston RI Car Accident Lawyer Today
If you are involved in a car accident with an under-insured driver, you do not have to settle for less. Laws in Rhode Island are complex and it can be very challenging to determine who is should be held liable and when they should be held liable for your damages and injuries. Most importantly, trying to understand the process of getting compensation for your injuries can be a challenge especially if you are dealing with an under-insured or uninsured motorist.
Thankfully, an experienced and highly skilled Cranston RI Car Accident Lawyer can help you. They understand car accident laws and insurance in Rhode Island. They have dealt with insurance adjusters and know exactly how they take advantage of policy holder’s confusion about the law to deny accident victims their rights.
Don’t settle for less than you’re entitled to. Contact a Cranston RI Car Accident Lawyer to get information you need to make an informed decision about what’s best for you. Contact one of our lawyers today to schedule a free initial consultation.