How a Massachusetts and Rhode Island Workers Compensation Lawyer Can Really Help You
Massachusetts and Rhode Island workers compensation lawyers know that the laws are designed to protect people who are injured at work are sometimes difficult to understand. We also know that sometimes people who are responsible for an employee’s injury want to get around the law. If you have been injured at work, it helps to know what direction to go in.
That’s why we are here to help. A Cape Cod Massachusetts and Rhode Island workers compensation lawyer will know the Rhode Island and Massachusetts statutes that pertain to your case and be ready to fight to preserve your rights.
What is a MA and Rhode Island Workers Compensation Lawyer?
Like most states, both Rhode Island and Massachusetts laws ensure that insurance companies provide you with sufficient funds for medical bills and lost wages if you’ve been hurt on the job.
Problems arise when insurance companies aren’t worried about the injured party; instead, they’re worried about their bottom line.
That’s why you need a Massachusetts/Cape Cod/RI workers compensation lawyer – without one, insurance companies may try to ignore your needs and leave you out in the cold.
What Should I Do if I’ve Been Injured At Work? Do I Call a MA RI Workers Comp Attorney First?
Not yet, but there are a few things you should do first. Of course, if any of this is unclear, you can always call us. Here’s what you should do:
1. Immediately Report Your Injury
It is very important that you report your workers injury as soon as it occurs. Even if the injury is minor, we advise you to report it. This is because some injuries become worse over time. If you make sure the injury report is in writing, even better. If your employer doesn’t routinely document the report in a writing, you should do it yourself and make a copy for both you and your employer
2. Make a Written Summary of the Injury
Document all aspects of your work injury. Make sure you include the date and time of the injury, any names, addresses and telephone numbers of people who witnessed your injury, also add in the name of the person to whom you reported your injury, and any limitations the injury has caused.
If you are hurt, then you should immediately medical attention for any injury you suffered.
3. If You are a Member of a Union, Report the Injury to Your Union Representative
Your employer must notify your insurance company within 10 days of being told of injury/injury occurred. In worse case scenarios, if the injury was fatal, the employer must report it within 48 hours.
The insurance company has 14 days to decide to pay the claim or investigate the workers compensation injury more fully.
The insurance company now has to decide between two options:
- Send a Memorandum of Agreement (MOA): This document states the company will accept liability for the harm and the money is then sent within 14 days.
- Send a Non-Prejudicial Agreement: This is when the insurance company agrees to pay for up to 13 weeks of benefits however, the company does not accept liability for the injury. In this scenario, the insurance company can stop payments to you at any time. If you do receive benefits for more than 13 weeks, then the insurance company should then send you an MOA.
4. Consult a MA or RI Workers Compensation Attorney
Choosing the Right MA RI Workers Compensation Lawyer
Your MA RI workers compensation lawyer should be able to:
- Ask you to describe what happened in great detail
- Find out what your current and past due medical bills are
- Answer any questions you have about RI or MA law
- Walk you through the entire process
At the Kevin P Landry Law Offices, our team of expert MA and RI workers compensation lawyers will be happy to meet with you to discuss your case; your initial consultation is free. We have eighteen Rhode Island and Massachusetts offices, or we’ll come to your home or hospital room – just let us know what’s most convenient.
Contact Your Massachusetts or Rhode Island Workers Compensation Lawyer Today
You can get in touch with one of our MA or RI workers compensation lawyers by calling (800)-200-7752 or by filling out a contact form. A workers compensation lawyer licensed in Rhode Island or Massachusetts will be in touch as soon as possible to help you get the justice you deserve.